England squad: Marcus Rashford makes Roy Hodgson’s final 23-man Euro 2016 squad

Roy Hodgson has named his final 23-man England squad for Euro 2016, with Danny Drinkwater and Andros Townsend the final two men to drop out.

The England boss had until midnight on Tuesday to make his announcement, but has delivered it well ahead of time to confirm the final group that will be travelling to France next month.

Fabian Delph had already been ruled out with a groin injury to leave Hodgson needing to cut just two more players from his provisional squad, and the unfortunate duo are now confirmed as Drinkwater and Townsend who will leave training camp and make their alternative summer plans.

In turn, that means Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford makes it along with Daniel Sturridge, with the latter emerging as a concern last week over his fitness troubles.

However, it appears as though he has proven that he has recovered from injury to take his place in the party heading for France, with England getting their tournament underway against Russia in Marseille on June 11.

Rashford has had a major impact since his emergence in the United senior side this season, and he will be looking to continue a dream ascent into the limelight this summer to prove that he deserved his call up.

England squad

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Fraser Forster (Southampton).

Defenders: John Stones (Everton), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Kyle Walker (Tottenham), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Danny Rose (Tottenham).

Midfielders: Adam Lallana (Liverpool), Dele Alli (Tottenham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Ross Barkley (Everton), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal), James Milner (Liverpool).

Forwards: Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Marcus Rashford (Man Utd), Wayne Rooney (Man Utd), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Harry Kane (Tottenham).

More Stories Daniel Sturridge Marcus Rashford Roy Hodgson